Jan Tschichold (1902–1974) was a twentieth century German designer who had immense influence in both modernist and classical typography. His 1928 book, Die Neue Typography is a schoolhouse classic, while his Penguin Composition Rules brought taste and order to British printing. A 1954 AIGA medalist, he was also a collector and scholar of Japanese prints and printed and scribal manuscripts. The latter part of his career was spent as a desiger for a Swiss pharmaceutical company. See some of his work here.


Sabon Next

postage stamps by type designers M Jan TschicholdM 1M «M»
The Offices of Kat Ran Press M typographyM|MbooksM|MnewsM|MstampsM|MlinksM|MaboutM|McontactM|M M|M«M»

Saul Bass
Herbert Bayer
Peter Bil'ak
Max Bill
Johannes Boehland
Neville Brody
Walter Brudi
Bernard Brussel-Smith
Ivan Chermayeff
Seymour Chwast
Wim Crouwel
S.H. de Roos
Michael Doret
F.H. Ehmcke
Hermann Eidenbenz
Roger Excoffon
Experimental Jetset
Karl-Erik Forsberg
Adrian Frutiger
Eric Gill
Milton Glaser
Eugène Grasset
Walter Haettenschweiler
S.L. Hartz
Lance Hidy
Jessica Hische
Wolfgang Homola
Max Kisman
Jan Van Krimpen
Jean-Benoit Lévy
H. Lubalin & J. Pistilli
Gerrit Noordzij
Peter Matthias Noordzij
Rémy Peignot
Friedrich Peter
Vojtech Preissig
David Quay
Alex Scholing
Jurriaan Schrofer
Ko Sliggers
Erik Spiekermann
Reynolds Stone
George F. Trenholm
Georg Trump
Josef Tyfa
Gerard Unger
Henning Wagenbreth
Min Wang
Julian Waters
Eva Wilsson
Hermann Zapf

other assorted materials
Peter Behrens
Lucian Bernhard
Warren Chappell
Thomas Maitland Cleland
Tony Di Spigna
Maria Doreuli
W.A. Dwiggins
Bruce Rogers
Rudolph Ruzicka
George Salter
Jan Tschichold «

about the collection

Bookmark and Share


  a Mb Mc Md
  Puffin Picture Book 69. 1950
  Postage Stamps
  By L.N. and M. Williams
  Designed by Jan Tschichold


  This page was made possible with help from
Editorial Verdehalago
: verdehalago.com