postage stamps by type designers M Adrian Frutiger M1M 2M «M»
The Offices of Kat Ran Press M typographyM|MbooksM|MnewsM|MstampsM|MlinksM|MaboutM|McontactM|M M|M«M»

Saul Bass
Herbert Bayer
Peter Bil'ak
Max Bill
Johannes Boehland
Neville Brody
Walter Brudi
Bernard Brussel-Smith
Ivan Chermayeff
Seymour Chwast
Wim Crouwel
S.H. de Roos
Michael Doret
F.H. Ehmcke
Hermann Eidenbenz
Roger Excoffon
Experimental Jetset
Karl-Erik Forsberg
Adrian Frutiger «
Eric Gill
Milton Glaser
Eugène Grasset
Walter Haettenschweiler
S.L. Hartz
Lance Hidy
Jessica Hische
Wolfgang Homola
Max Kisman
Jan Van Krimpen
Jean-Benoit Lévy
H. Lubalin & J. Pistilli
Gerrit Noordzij
Peter Matthias Noordzij
Rémy Peignot
Friedrich Peter
Vojtech Preissig
David Quay
Alex Scholing
Jurriaan Schrofer
Ko Sliggers
Erik Spiekermann
Reynolds Stone
George F. Trenholm
Georg Trump
Josef Tyfa
Gerard Unger
Henning Wagenbreth
Min Wang
Julian Waters
Eva Wilsson
Hermann Zapf

other assorted materials
Peter Behrens
Lucian Bernhard
Warren Chappell
Thomas Maitland Cleland
Tony Di Spigna
Maria Doreuli
W.A. Dwiggins
Bruce Rogers
Rudolph Ruzicka
George Salter
Jan Tschichold

about the collection

Bookmark and Share


  Switzerland. 1998
  Swiss Post
  Design by K. Wälti and Adrian Frutiger


  This page was made possible with help from
  Alyson Kuhn
  Dan Keleher : Wild Carrot Letterpress
  Jerry Manning

Adrian Frutiger (b. 1928) was born in the Swiss Alps and spent most of his carreer in France. In 1952, he oversaw the drawing office at Deberny & Peignot in Paris, and in 1961 he founded his own studio with Bruno Pfäffli and André Gürtler. His were amoung the very first faces developed for photo-typesetting, and he also developed a face for Optical Character Recognition. His self-titled face, Frutiger, was developed from his lettering for the Charles de Gaulle Airport. To read more about his work, click here. To see more of his faces, click here.


Frutiger 55


Univers 65 Bold